Wednesday, January 30, 2008

DB commitment

Here's a link to a defensive back commitment

Saturday, January 26, 2008

Award winners

Yale players should be in Yale Commons by now so here are the 2007 season awards:

Ryan LoProto Defensive Back Award: Bobby Abare

Jim Keppel Offensive Back Award: Matt Polhemus

Ted Turner Offensive Line Award: Jeff Monaco and Langston Johnson

Defensive Line Award: Brandt Hollander

Specialist Award: Matt Coombs

Hammer Award for hardest hitter: Joe Fucillo

Jordan Oliver Senior Award for player other than captain who has earned most respect of teammates: Joe Fucillo

Robert Gardner Anderson Award for skill, spirit and pride in accomplishment: Kirk Porter

Woody Knapp Award for leadership qualities and unselfish devotion: Dan Sica, Chris Denny-Brown

Norman Hall Award for outstanding service to Yale football: Steve Schmalhofer

Chester LaRoche Academic Senior Award: Alan Kimball

Greg Dubinetz Lineman Award: Jared Hamilton

Ledyard Mitchell Kicking Award: Alan Kimball

Charles Loftus Rookie of the Year Award: Gio Christodoulou

Edwin Foster Ted Blair MVP: Mike McLeod

Bobby Abare

Here's a link to today's Bobby Abare story

Friday, January 25, 2008


Here's a link for a California commitment posted by asiasunset (very reliable poster) on the Ivy message board.

Captain, My Captain

Bobby Abare has been named captain for the 2008 season.

Great choice.

This kid just loves football and is so passionate about playing and practicing.

As I said before, this is a good senior class with a lot of leadership so Bobby will get a lot of help.

Chandler Henley really set the tone for sharing leadership with the senior class and I think it will continue to carry over.

We'll have a story about Bobby in Saturday's Register and team awards in Sunday's paper.

Will also post links.

Thursday, January 24, 2008

Captain, etc.

Yale will choose its captain Friday morning.

Yale and Harvard are believed to be the only two programs remaining for college football that pick just one captain.

With so many former high school captains and present leaders in the college community, this is always an interesting process.

The winner needs a majority vote. If no one has majority vote, they go to another ballot.

This is a big, impressive class entering its senior year.

For entertainment purposes, I am going to say Bobby Abare edges Mike McLeod for captain. From experience I can tell you the most talented players are not always selected and when you think you've discovered a formula for your guess, you're wrong.

This year's will go multiple ballots with Ty Davis and Casey Gerald making it beyond the first ballot.

We'll see Friday morning.

Will post when I find out in the morning.

Yale's awards banquet is Saturday, and will post winners of awards Saturday night after the banquet.

Should have some recruiting news soon as well.

Monday, January 14, 2008

McLeod and Walter Camp

Mike McLeod was honored this past weekend at Walter Camp as the Foundation's Connecticut Player of the Year.

He was very active, speaking at the Stay in School Rally, going on hospital visits, and accepting his award at the banquet, a must attend dinner if you've never been.

Mike was roommates with Arkanas' Felix Jones and seemed to hit it off well with Darren McFadden and Tim Tebow, among others.

He even got to sit next to Dick Butkus at a dinner at Mory's.

I don't think he stopped smiling all weekend.

Here's a link to a story I wrote:

Here's some other links:

Connecticut Post

Hartford Courant,0,1515657.story

Power rankings

New site

Found this site, and thought I would share the link. (

Not going to break much new ground, but some nice displays.

I've always been fascinated by the Yale-Harvard Parker Brothers game.

Anyone ever seen it first hand?