Monday, December 09, 2013

Epperly, Hodges named Bushnell Cup recipients

Princeton JR. QB Quinn Epperly and Harvard JR. DL Zach Hodges have been named this year's Bushnell Cup recipients, given to the Ivy League's top players.

Epperly is the eighth Princeton player to win the award, while Hodges is the eighth player from Harvard.
Princeton SR. DL Cauaun Reid and Brown SR. RB John Spooney were the other finalists voted by the league's coaches.

Here's a look at the award ceremony.

And below is a look at the all-time recipients...

All-Time Recipient List1970 - Jim Chasey, QB, Dartmouth & Ed Marinaro, RB, Cornell
1971 - Ed Marinaro, RB, Cornell
1972 - Dick Jauron, RB, Yale
1973 - Jim Stoeckel, QB, Harvard
1974 - Walt Snickenberger, RB, Princeton
1975 - Doug Jackson, RB, Columbia
1976 - John Pagliaro, RB, Yale
1977 - John Pagliaro, RB, Yale
1978 - Buddy Teevens, QB, Dartmouth
1979 - Tim Tumpane, LB, Yale
1980 - Kevin Czinger, MG, Yale
1981 - Rich Diana, RB, Yale
1982 - John Witkowski, QB, Columbia
1983 - Derrick Harmon, RB, Cornell
1984 - Tim Chambers, DB, Penn
1985 - Tom Gilmore, DT, Penn
1986 - Rich Comizio, RB, Penn
1987 - Kelly Ryan, QB, Yale1988 - Jason Garrett, QB, Princeton
1989 - Judd Garrett, RB, Princeton
1990 - Shon Page, RB, Dartmouth
1991 - Al Rosier, RB, Dartmouth
1992 - Jay Fiedler, QB, Dartmouth
1993 - Keith Elias, RB, Princeton
1994 - Pat Goodwillie, LB, Penn
1995 - Dave Patterson, LB, Princeton
1996 - Chad Levitt, RB, Cornell
1997 - Sean Morey, WR, Brown
1998 - Jim Finn, RB, Penn
1999 - James Perry, QB, Brown
2000 - Gavin Hoffman, QB, Penn
2001 - Carl Morris, WR, Harvard
2002 - Carl Morris, WR, Harvard
2003 - Mike Mitchell, QB, Penn
2004 - Ryan Fitzpatrick, QB, Harvard
2005 - Nick Hartigan, RB, Brown
2006 - Jeff Terrell, QB, Princeton
2007 - Mike McLeod, RB, Yale
2008 - Chris Pizzotti, QB, Harvard
2009 - Buddy Farnham, WR, Brown & Jake Lewko, LB, Penn
2010 - Gino Gordon, RB, Harvard & Nick Schwieger, RB, Dartmouth
2011 - Offensive Player of the Year: Jeff Mathews, QB, Cornell
           Defensive Player of the Year: Josue Ortiz, DT, Harvard
2012 - Offensive Player of the Year: Colton Chapple, QB, Harvard
           Defensive Player of the Year: Mike Catapano, DL, Princeton
2013 - Offensive Player of the Year: Quinn Epperly, QB, Princeton
           Defensive Player of the Year: Zach Hodges, DL, Harvard

Tuesday, December 03, 2013

Bushnell Cup finalists

Princeton QB Quinn Epperly, Tigers DL Caraun Reid, Harvard DL Zach Hodges and Brown RB John Spooney have been named finalists for the Ivy League’s Bushnell Cup.

Epperly and Spooney are the Offensive Player of the Year finalists, while Reid and Hodges are the Defensive Player of the Year finalists. Winners will be announced on Monday.

Epperly became the first player in league history to score more than 40 TDs in a season. Epperly also set an NCAA record with 29 straight completions. Spooney led the Ivy in rushing with 130 yards per game, which ranked No. 5 in the nation.

Hodges had 40 tackles and 6.5 sacks. He ranked fifth in the nation with four forced fumbles. Reid led the Ivy League in sacks in Ivy games with 5.5 and also had 9 tackles for loss in conference games. Mike McLeod was the last Yale player (2007) to win the award.

Monday, December 02, 2013

Randall honored

Last week, Deon Randall was voted Yale's captain for next year. This week, he was named to the FCS All-New England Team.

The do-it-all junior finished with a team-high 85 receptions (one shy of the school record) and finished with 11 TDs. His 8.5 receptions per game were No. 5 in the FCS.