Monday, November 19, 2007

All-Ivy; McLeod player of year

Mike McLeod is unanimous choice for Asa Bushnell trophy, awarded to MVP of Ivy League.

Here is link to teams.

He is first at Yale since Kelly Ryan in 1987 to win the award.

Yale has won the award, presented since 1970, eight times, more than any other Ivy teams.

Penn has won it seven times, Princeton six times, Dartmouth have won it five times, Harvard and Cornell four times, Brown three times and Columbia twice.

Yale's other winners
Dick Jauron in 1972
John Pagliaro in 1976 and 77.
Tim Tumpane in 1979
Kevin Czinger in 1980
Rich Diana in 1981

Only players to win back-to-back:

Cornell's Ed Marinaro
Yale's John Pagliaro
Harvard's Carl Morris

FIRST TEAM — Langston Johnson, TE (Sr., Los Altos, Calif.); Jeff Monaco, OL (Sr., McDonald, Pa.); Mike McLeod, RB (Jr., New Britain, Conn.); Brandt Hollander, DL (Sr., Indianapolis, Ind.); Bobby Abare, LB (Jr., Acton, Mass.)

SECOND TEAM — Darius Dale, OL (Jr., Seattle, Wash.); Joe Fucillo, RB (Sr., Rockville, Md.); Alan Kimball, K (Sr., Olathe, Kan.); Jared Hamilton, DL (Sr., Alpine, Utah); Brady Hart, LB (Jr., State College, Pa.); Steve Santoro, DB (Jr., Airmont, N.Y.)

HONORABLE MENTION — Ty Davis, OL (Jr., Fresno, Calif.); Kirk Porter, DL (Sr., Silver Spring, Md.); Paul Rice, DB (Soph., Cleveland Heights, Ohio); Nick Solakian, DB (Sr., Santa Barbara, Calif.); Tom Mante, P (Soph., Westford, Mass.)


Post a Comment

Subscribe to Post Comments [Atom]

Links to this post:

Create a Link

<< Home