Thursday, October 30, 2014

Varga honored

Tyler Varga has been named a National Football Foundation and Hall of Fame Scholar-Athlete award winner.

With the honor, comes an $18,000 post-graduate scholarship and a trip to the NFF's banquet in New York City on Dec. 9. Varga will also be in contention for the William V. Campbell Trophy, given to the nation's top football scholar-athlete.

Varga has a 3.56 GPA and an ecology and evolutionary biology major. He and 16 others were chosen from a pool of 169 semifinalist candidates.

On the field, Varga has 849 yards and 16 TDs (14 rush, two receiving).

Past Yale Scholar-Athletes winners include...

1967 Rick McCarthy, Offensive Guard

1970 Tom Neville, Defensive Tackle

1972 Dick Jauron, Running Back

1976 Stone Phillips, Quarterback

1978 Bill Crowley, Linebacker

1980 Kevin Czinger, Middle Guard

1981 Rich Diana, Running Back

2001 Peter Lee, Quarterback

2006 Ed McCarthy, Offensive Tackle

2008 Casey Gerald, Defensive Back

2011 Patrick Witt, Quarterback

2014 Tyler Varga, Tailback


Anonymous Anonymous said...

Tyler you are truly and amazing person.Looking forward to seeing you working at YNNH.
Cheers Jon Harris

5:25 PM 

Post a Comment

Subscribe to Post Comments [Atom]

Links to this post:

Create a Link

<< Home