Friday, December 02, 2011

Witt to receive Swede Nelson Award

Record-breaking Yale quarterback Patrick Witt will receive the Gridiron Club of Boston's prestigious Nils V "Swede" Nelson Award next month
Witt finished as Yale's all-time leader with 549 completions, 913 attempts and 6,033 yards in three seasons after transferring from Nebraska. He is a history major with a 3.91 grade-point average who was a Rhodes Scholarship finalist. He is also one of 12 finalists for the Campbell Trophy, commonly referred to as the academic Heisman Trophy. That award will be presented on Tuesday in New York while the "Swede" Nelson Award will be given to Witt on Jan. 12.
New Haven native Floyd Little is one of the prominent players to have won the award. Witt will be the sixth Yale player to win the award and will join Brian Dowling as the second Yale quarterback to receive the honor.



Anonymous Anonymous said...

Much as I hate to see them go, it may be time to take down "10 Players to Watch."

8:14 PM 
Anonymous Anonymous said...

Congratulations to Pat and continued success !

8:49 AM 
Anonymous Anonymous said...

He's got an awfully nice throwing arm, but due to his mediocre TD-to-INT ratio, he cannot by any stretch of the imagination be considered the greatest Yale QB of all time. The greatest? Brian Dowling, Kelly Ryan, and Joe Walland, in my book.

1:29 PM 

Post a Comment

Subscribe to Post Comments [Atom]

Links to this post:

Create a Link

<< Home