Thursday, April 23, 2009

Seven ex-Bulldogs honored

Seven players who were senior starters on the 2008 Yale football team were named to the 2009 NFF Hampshire Honor Society including 60 percent of the Bulldogs' starting offensive line.

Tackles Darius Dale and Bryan Kana and center Ty Davis joined cornerback Casey Gerald, defensive tackle Kyle Hawari, fullback Shebby Swett and safety Steve Santoro were among the 564 players from 266 schools who were honored.

Here are the requirements:
Being a starter or a significant substitute in one's last year of eligibility at an accredited NCAA Football Bowl Subdivision, Football Championship Subdivision, Division II, Division III, or an NAIA college or university

Achieving a 3.2 cumulative grade point average throughout entire course of undergraduate study

Meeting all NCAA-mandated progress towards degree requirements.

Dylan Drake, who led the high school national champion St. Thomas Aquinas team in sacks and tackles for losses, was one of four players to receive Piccolo Awards for success not only on the football field but in the classroom and in the community as well.


Post a Comment

Subscribe to Post Comments [Atom]

Links to this post:

Create a Link

<< Home