Sunday, December 14, 2008

Huge honor for Abare

When your name is mentioned alongside Yale legends like Levi Jackson, Dick Jauron, Brian Dowling and Rich Diana, it is clearly a special honor.

Yale senior linebacker Bobby Abare was so honored when he was named the co-winner of
the George "Bulger" Lowe Award by the Gridiron Club of Boston as the most outstanding player in New England.

Abare, who shared the award with Mark Herzlich of Boston College, led the Bulldogs with 86 tackles and four interceptions. He has also been named a finalist for the Buck Buchanan Award given to the outstanding defensive player among Football Championship Subdivision teams.

Abare becomes the ninth Yale player and first defensive player to win the Lowe Award and the first recipient from Yale since running back Rich Diana was honored in 1981.

1944 - Paul Walker, E
1946 - Levi Jackson, RB
1950 - Bob Spears, FB
1956 - Denny McGill, HB
1960 - Tom Singleton, QB
1968 - Brian Dowling, QB
1972 - Dick Jauron, RB
1981 - Rich Diana, RB
2008 - Bobby Abare, LB


Anonymous Anonymous said...

It seems as though there are other players who also deserve recognition from this Yale team. One person does make a team.

10:41 PM 
Blogger Jim Fuller said...

Kyle Hawari was a first-team All-Ivy selection and Academic All-American, Casey Gerald was a candidate for the Draddy Award and Rhodes Scholar, won the Jerry Nasson Award from the New England Football Writers Association and was named to the academic all-district team along with Hawari and Shebby Swett. Darius Dale and Mike McLeod were also first-team All-Ivy League selections while Joe Hathaway, Larry Abare, Steve Santoro and Tom Mante were second-team All-Ivy picks while Dale also joined Bobby Abare on the All-New England team so clearly other players from the team have received postseason recognition.

12:10 AM 

Post a Comment

Subscribe to Post Comments [Atom]

Links to this post:

Create a Link

<< Home